St Johns Bridge and Penzance Road, Helston, 1960s
|Place||Penzance Road, St Johns, Sithney Cornwall United Kingdom|
|Date||1960 — 1968. about|
|Keywords||Sithney Helston St Johns|
|Copyright||Image Courtesy of Helston Museum|
Taken from the roadside behind Leachie pottery (once the Old Mill) in the St Johns area of Helston on Penzance Road at the bottom of Sithney Common Hill, this photograph shows St Johns Bridge road to the left (behind the car) with the Toll House (now demolished) to the centre right. The depicted corner has been removed completely and replaced with a left slip road to St Johns Bridge. The ruins of an ancient house, still not yet completely demolished, are also visible. Many buildings in the St Johns area of Helston were demolished in the 1960s as part of a road widening and regeneration project. The project was first considered in 1955 and completed in 1968/1969. Part of the Jack Stephens collection of local photographs.