Stamps Wheel, Treworlis Mine, Lowertown, about 1959
|Place||Lowertown (Treworlis Tin Stamps, near Trenethick Barton) Cornwall United Kingdom|
|Keywords||Trades and Professions Mining Helston|
|Copyright||Image Courtesy of Helston Museum|
The water driven tin stamp wheel at Treworlis Mine, Lowertown, demolished in 1959. Information from: www.cornwallinfocus.co.uk/mining/treworlis.php - Treworlis mine sett lies about a mile northeast of Helston near the site of Trenethick Manor. It worked a solitary lode from New Engine Shaft, Old Engine Shaft and Tremenheere Shaft, producing medium grade copper ore as well as black tin. The mine commenced working in Spring 1859 after a lease was granted by the mineral lords - The Duchy of Cornwall. Production was 353 tons of tin between 1860 and 1874 as well as 704 tons of 5.25% copper ore between 1860 and 1864 and also in 1868. Thomas Spargo writes in his 'The mines of Cornwall and Devon; Statistics and Observations' (1865) that Treworlis '... in the parish of Wendron, about a mile east of Helston, was set to work in April, 1859. The dues, l-18th are paid to the Duke of Cornwall. There is only one lode worked on. The depth of the mine is 43 fathoms. 55 men, 4 females, and 20 boys, employed on the works (in 1861). The water is pumped by a 26-inch cylinder engine. Purser, Mr. H. Rogers, Helston; manager, Captain John Burgan, Helston; agent on the mine, Captain Bennet Dunstan. The company are now working in a spirited manner, with good prospects of success. There is some copper-ore in the lode, but tin predominates'.